RSS Feed

By Way of Introduction

I briefly considered naming this the ‘T-Blog’, but it seemed far too likely that the right tone might not be set for what I’m trying to accomplish. True, it might be fun to suck in people looking to poke fun at aging social conservatives, but I don’t know, I think the majority of hits, if any, would come from folks searching for a certain testicle related activity I’m seriously unlikely to discuss here.

After spending countless hours gaining information on the lives of my transgendered sisters and brothers out there, I thought “Hey! I should do that too!”. Original, right? Well, so what. The way I see it, the more trans information and experience out there for someone to stumble across and better educate themselves, the better.

I kind of have a variety show format in mind for mine. Some personal experiences, thoughts, fiction, contributions (in the event there is actually a readership), reviews, and some humor. I thought about inserting whimsical pictures to illustrate my text, and I still may. The opening paragraph would have been a good place to start, but let’s get off on the right foot and see where things go. Probably no videos of me doing ‘The Humpty Dance’ in footie pajamas, but in the unlikely scenario I someday get a cool million hits and someone actually remembers and calls me on it, I’ll do it. I won’t be happy, but will keep my word.

For now I’ll keep the comments un-moderated unless things get out of hand; almost a guarantee. I just want to see how long it takes before the first Leviticus quote is thrown out there and someone calls me an abomination on my own blog. The nerve! In the mean time, hoping to hear from you soon.

About michellelianna

I'm a transgender woman now in the maintenance stages of transition having all the electrolysis and surgery one can reasonably be expected to undertake. While busy exploring my new world, I took to blogging about it with dubiously popular results. I don't have quite as much to say as I used to, but I'm not quite done yet either.

4 responses »

  1. Hello Michelle,

    I just wanted to stop by and say Hi!

    I’ll be back to troll around later

    Christina C xoxo

    Reply
  2. I like your last paragraph, haha. I confess, I’m one of those people who views crossdressing as a sin, but I’m also a past crossdresser. And it’s Deuteronomy not Leviticus 😉
    Don’t worry I’m not here to preach to you. If you are interested in my thoughts, you can always read my blog.

    I found your blog through wordpress because of its theme. Recently I’ve been thinking about transgendered people and why they think they are actually the opposite sex. My theory is that a boy who doesn’t fit with the perceived gender stereotypes of what it means to be a boy or man, gets confused and then therefore thinks he must actually be a girl in his heart because he fits the girl stereotypes more. (and this describes me well as I fit way more feminine stereotypes than masculine ones and have thought about living as a woman). My solution would not be a sex change, but to affirm that the boy can be who he is, sensitive, emotional, whatever he may be like, and still be a true boy or man.

    My question for you, not to start a debate, but just I’m curious. In general, what made you think you were born in the wrong body? What made you think you are truly female? Was it because you didn’t fit the masculine stereotypes or is there more to it?

    Reply
    • Thanks for commenting! I make no requirement that a commenter’s view have to match my own, and very much welcome any dialog as long as it remains polite. I think there is a lot of value in these discussion even if the object isn’t to change anyone’s mind.
      Good catch on my misquote! The two get jumbled in my mind sometimes and I should have looked it up rather than assuming.
      You asked some good questions and I appreciate you sharing your theory. My long answer would require a book, so I’m going to touch on some quick points for now, but as I flesh out this blog, I will provide more depth. I will check out yours, but at work right now, so answering by email.
      To put it simply, it is far more than feeling like I don’t fit the stereotype. All stereotypes are generalizations that fit some, or even very few members of a population (i.e. Italians in the mafia – hardly any actually are). I would think most people fall outside these generalizations one way or another, and in that respect, a very sensitive, emotional, and even effeminate man, whether gay or straight, still feels at their core, male. Not so with many or most transgender people. It’s not that we can’t fit with our birth gender norms, those of the opposite sex seem so much more correct, and once we begin to explore, this feeling is very much validated. So the short answer is, there is much, much more to it than masculine not being a fit, but I’ll elaborate more as time goes on.
      The really hard part about this, and one of the reasons I started this blog to flesh out some ideas, is the difficulty that comes with trying to explain. The problem is common frame of reference. No matter how many analogies we come up with, transgender people have never quite nailed an explanation of what it feels like to be this way, mainly because you can never really know having not been born this way. I do think we can get a lot closer though.
      Thank you again for commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

