RSS Feed

Tranny Chasers

A few months ago at one of my Spectrum meetings, a young trans man said he heard there are certain people attracted specifically to trans folks. The reaction in the room was one of immediate revulsion. “Oh. Ugh. Tranny chasers. You really want to keep away from them!” The facial expressions of the other attendees immediate confirmed the statement. I give our young friend a huge amount of credit for asking, but he accepted the answer and never asked, “OK, why?” It took a while to rattle through my cobwebs, but yeah, why?

I’m reasonably certain they don’t use the term to describe themselves, but we in the trans community do. It’s a way to slap an unfavorable label on a class of people who displease us, ironically working in a term many trans people don’t care for at all. I think the topic is worth a bit of exploration.

First off, what is a tranny chaser anyway? To quote some giant of psychology whose name escapes me, “if it exists out there, someone has a hard on for it.” Peccadillo, paraphilia, fetish, or desired demographic; people have them in spades for everything from shoes to weeping sores to handlebar mustaches. Most of the reading I did about these back in the 90’s indicated these often became imprinted in early childhood, and as I can only assume no new information was gathered since I stopped paying attention, I can only hold that remains the likely answer. A desire for trans people, however, seems harder to explain than a yen for redheads or truck-bumper rubber testicles. Mystery for the ages or not, they exist and they want us.

The overall impression I get is that the real turn on is the parts we may have that are contrary to our self perception. Cover your eyes for a second if you are sensitive to language, but it’s ‘chicks with dicks’ I’m talking about. There are a lot of armchair theorists who would advance that they are merely people with homosexual tendencies who are unready to admit it, and so dabble with a safe gateway gender before taking the plunge. I don’t think so. I think their overall preference is exactly for transgendered people and it stays there.

A lot of trans people are seriously creeped out by this. Why is that? Let’s be honest for a moment; a great number of us don’t exactly have a lot of prospects. Some gay trans women have luck in the lesbian community, and a few straight trans women have very sketchy successes with straight men if they are reasonably passable. Trans men of either orientation appear moderately more desirable, possibly because trans men often end up being fairly awesome dudes. Some trans people like other trans people of either gender and others don’t. In any case, finding romantic happiness is an order of magnitude more difficult than in the cisgender world. Shouldn’t we then be happy that an apparent plethora of dudes love us exactly the way we are? Why do we say, “ick”?

The fundamental reason behind it is that the very thing they are attracted to is what we often most hate about ourselves. In a gathering of trans women who have not had bottom surgery yet, almost no one ever exclaims that they are going to “rock out with their cock out” over the weekend. Great, now I’m going to be tempted to say that sometime just to see everyone get all awkward and uncomfortable. No one does this because women shafted with male genitalia (really try not to take that the wrong way), are not super excited about it, and often loath the idea of anyone taking too great an interest down there.

I think the cis women out there can understand. If you have, say a giant hairy mole on your inner thigh (and let’s be honest, it’s really along the same lines as what I’m talking about) and you are mortally embarrassed about, how flattered are you that some dude is salivating over you because of it? It’s not really that big of a turn on, is it? The truth is, it probably creeps you out even more than someone who wants to smell your shoes. Guys, I’m not so sure get the problem. If I understand things correctly, in the same situation we might expect to hear, “Dude, this hairy taco shaped mole on my ass is getting me so much pussy!” Come on, it’s at least a little true.

OK, I don’t consider tranny chasers bad people, or necessarily weird people, or harmful. I don’t believe they can help their attraction and I don’t judge them for it. I’m tolerant of almost anything that goes on between consenting adult humans. I hope they find what they are looking for, but they’d have better luck satisfying a lust for bacon cheeseburgers in Israel. And in case you found this by googling keywords, um, thanks, but no.

About michellelianna

I'm a transgender woman now in the maintenance stages of transition having all the electrolysis and surgery one can reasonably be expected to undertake. While busy exploring my new world, I took to blogging about it with dubiously popular results. I don't have quite as much to say as I used to, but I'm not quite done yet either.

5 responses »

  1. I hate jargon almost as much as labels because of their exclusive nature, yet in many trades and professions they are an acceptable form of shorthand which have specialized meanings.
    The world of gender-variance is not at all specialized and to use terms such as “tranny” or worse yet, “tranny-chaser” makes my skin crawl with a desire to take a shower or at least wash my hands a few hundred times like Lady MacBeth to get out that “damned spot.” UGH!

    Reply
  2. This is why I hate labels. I’m pretty open minded like yourself, just wish the rest of the world was.

    Reply
  3. Tranny chasers! If you have a boy friend there might be a good chance that the rest of the world may describe him as one, sad.
    If I want someone to put their hands on me than that’a fine, if I don’t than that’s a pervert not a Tranny Chasers.
    We like what we like so what, as long as we share it with someone who appreciates it I see no problem. I don’t know what else to say about this:)
    Erin

    Reply
  4. I have never totally understood the total disdain for tranny chasers.
    Granted I hate the ones who think we are nothing but easy sexual conquests but to lump all guys who may be intrigued by us into one big unfair category is crazy.
    I mean don’t we all go through that too?
    Here’s a theory:
    I believe many in the trans culture speak from a basis of how they “think” it is without actually having the real life knowledge to back it up.
    Perhaps a little of the ol male ego is bleeding through to be a little better than the next girl at this woman thing. (I’ve been in the world more than you ….blah, blah blah)
    My favorite example are the trans girls who just can’t stand that mean old gross men’s room and just love the “pristine” woman’s rooms.
    I have worked around big time restaurant/bar situations for over 30 years as a guy and now as a trans woman…and I have seen my share of UGLY women’s rooms.
    The feeling I have is, those of which reject a so called “tranny chaser” out of hand have never been chased to see how it would be.

    Reply
  5. Sis,

    The bad pun police are headed your way. Look out.

    Good point. I think we have awfully limited options and to automatically exclude a person for no other reason than they are attracted to what makes us unique is a rather self-defeating proposal.

    That said, there is plenty of room for caution when dealing with that particular population. Their kink for “women with extra assets” can also be accompanied by some other more dangerous kinks.

    Let me toss out a radical thought. Maybe we should meet and get to know people before we judge them. Just a wild idea, but worth a shot.

    As usual, well said and you left me laughing.

    Love,

    Becky

    Reply

Leave a Reply

